Skip to main content

Explore Our History

U.S. Postal Service Issues Postage Stamp Honoring Alvin Ailey

The United States Postal Service issues a first-class postage stamp honoring Alvin Ailey. The American Choreographers series commemorates four visionary 20th century choreographers—Alvin Ailey, George Balanchine, Agnes DeMille, and Martha Graham—who left a profound mark on the language of dance.

Denise Jefferson celebrates her 30th anniversary at The Ailey School and marks 20 years as School Director.

Executive Director Sharon Gersten Luckman receives the Encore Award for excellence in arts management from the Arts & Business Council of New York.

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater embarks on its first tour of China and Singapore in 19 years. Under the sponsorship of Citigroup, the Company offers performances, outreach activities, and master classes in Shanghai, Beijing, Hong Kong, and Singapore.

Ailey Spirit: The Journey of an American Dance Company is published.

On December 1, Judith Jamison receives the Paul Robeson Award from the Actors’ Equity Association.

Alvin Ailey Dance Foundation opens The Joan Weill Center for Dance, the Company’s first permanent home, in Manhattan.